THE MODERN OLYMPIC GAMES

WINTER OLYMPIC GAMES

I 1924 Chamonix, France January 25–February 4
II 1928 St. Moritz, Switzerland February 11–19
III 1932 Lake Placid, USA February 4–15
IV 1936 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany February 6–16
V 1940 Sapporo, Japan/St. Moritz, Switzerland/
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany (cancelled) Not celebrated due to WWII
V 1944 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy (cancelled)Not celebrated due to WWII
V 1948 St. Moritz, Switzerland January 30–February 8
VI 1952 Oslo, Norway February 14–25
VII 1956 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy January 26–February 5
VIII 1960 Squaw Valley, USA February 18–28
IX 1964 Innsbruck, Austria January 29–February 9
X 1968 Grenoble, France February 6–18
XI 1972 Sapporo, Japan February 3–13
XII 1976 Innsbruck, Austria (originally Denver, USA) February 4–15
XIII 1980 Lake Placid, USA February 14–23
XIV 1984 Sarajevo, Yugoslavia February 8–19
XV 1988 Calgary, Canada February 13–2
XVI 1992 Albertville, France February 8–23
XVII 1994 Lillehammer, Norway February 12–27
XVIII 1998 Nagano, Japan February 7–22
XIX 2002 Salt Lake City, USA February 9–24
XX 2006 Torino, Italy February 4–19
XXI 2010 Vancouver, Canada February 12–28
XXII 2014 Sochi, Russia February 7–23
XXIII 2018 PyeongChang, South Korea February 9–25
XXIV2022 Beijing, China February 4-20
XXV 2026 Milano Cortina, Italy February 6-22